With a vast improvement in Pac-12 Conference play, from 4-9 in the 2015 season to finishing the regular season with a 10-2 record and South Division champions this year, it's no wonder that Colorado head coach Mike MacIntyre was named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year today.

Coach MacIntyre is the first CU coach since Gary Barnett in 2004 (Big 12) to be named a conference coach of the year. CU has also made its way back into the top 10 for the first time since 2002. Currently, the Buffs sit at No. 9 in the College Football Playoff Rankings.

Coach MacIntyre wasn't the only one receiving top honors. CU also had 16 All-Pac 12 selections, a number that tied them with Washington for the second-most overall selections this season, and just two behind USC's leading 18.

Outside linebacker Jimmie Gilbert is the first CU defensive player to earn first-team All-Pac-12 honors. Special teams' Ryan Moeller got the honor for special teams play.

CU's secondary had three second-team selections in Chidobe Awuzie, Tedric Thompson, and Ahkello Witherspoon. Running back Phillip Lindsay, and offensive lineman (left tackle) Jeromy Irwin were second-team selections.

Honorable mentions included Bryce Bobo (WR); Jordan Carrell (DE); Shay Fields (WR); Alex Kelley (OL); Gerrad Kough (OL); Sefo Liufau (QB); Kenneth Olugbode (ILB); Devin Ross (WR); Josh Tupou (NT).

Friday night CU will face Washington in the Pac-12 Championship game.