It’s been quite the week for Tom Petty, who has been taking advantage of the opportunities provided in the U.K. After teaming with Steve Winwood in London earlier last week, Petty played his first ever U.K. festival headlining gig at the Isle of Wight Festival on Friday.


The Petty appearance was heavily anticipated, as it was part of his first U.K. trek in 20 years. Acts like Noah and the Whale and Elbow expressed their excitement at playing on a bill with the rock vet earlier in the day.

NME reports that the set was heavy on the hits, but had a few surprises as well. The show opened with the 1978 favorite ‘Listen to Her Heart’ followed by ‘You Wreck Me.’ Hits like ‘Don’t Come Around Here No More,’ ‘Free Fallin’,’ and ‘Learning to Fly’ also populated the set.

The surprises came in the form of a favorite from Petty’s other superstar group, the Traveling Wilburys. The rocker performed ‘Handle with Care,’ and later would do a rather spirited cover of Fleetwood Mac‘s ‘Oh Well.” The evening concluded with ‘Mary Jane’s Last Dance’ and the classic ‘American Girl.’

Petty will complete his current European run with dates in the Netherlands, Germany, France and Italy.

Tom Petty’s Isle of Wight Set:

1. ‘Listen to Her Heart’
2. ‘You Wreck Me’
3. ‘I Won’t Back Down’
4. ‘Here Comes My Girl’
5. ‘Handle with Care’
6. ‘Good Enough’
7. ‘Oh Well’
8. ‘Something Big’
9. ‘Don’t Come Around Here No More’
10. ‘Free Fallin”
11. ‘It’s Good to be King’
12. ‘Something Good Coming’
13. ‘Learning to Fly’
14. ‘Yer So Bad’
15. ‘I Shoulda Known It’
16. ‘Refugee’
17. ‘Runnin’ Down a Dream’
18. ‘Mary Jane’s Last Dance’
19. ‘American Girl’

More From Power 102.9 NoCo - KARS-FM