Five New Colorado Laws Just Went Into Effect January 1, 2019
Things just got a little higher in the Mile High, and the strength of beer and minimum wage are just a couple of them. Here's what new laws went into effect in Colorado on January 1, 2019.
Higher Minimum Wage
According to KDVR, Colorado was one of 19 states to up minimum wage as a part of the National Employment Law Project. Previously, minimum wage was $10.20 per hour, and $7.18 per hour for tipped workers. Now, it is $11.10 per hour, and $8.08 for those who earn tips.
We've been following this one for a while. As of January 1, 2019, out with that 3.2 stuff! Grocery stores can now carry full-strength beer.
'Anywhere you would normally buy your 3.2 beer will have the option to carry full strength varieties starting the very first day of 2019. However, if you are into hard ciders, you will still have to go to the liquor store as it is considered 'wine' in the state of Colorado.' Read more here.
Higher State Park Fees
Yeah, this one's not as cool as the last two. The price of camping will also hike this year, but thankfully, not by too much. Why? Well, inflation and toilet paper, really. Read more about park fee increases here.
Higher Weed Taxes?
According to KOAA, the market value of marijuana will increase this year. Ultimately, you may have to pay a little more green for your green if you know what I mean.
'Colorado will bring in more tax revenue from wholesale deals involving marijuana intended to be sold to consumers after the average prices of those wholesale products rose in the latter part of this year.' Read more from KOAA here.
Changes to Immigrant Drivers' Licences
I couldn't find a way to work 'higher' into that one. According to 9NEWS, 'Colorado residents who can't prove they're in the country legally can use a Social Security number to get a driver's license.' This is to help people renew online, rather than wait for an appointment at the DMV.